Life…captured.

Saturday morning quiet reflection…

It’s 9:12a.m. Saturday morning and the house is quiet with the exception of my new Jason Aldean CD, “My Kinda Party”, playing on my laptop.  🙂  I tried to sleep later but my eyes popped open at 7:37a.m. and I got tired of laying in bed around 8:30 so I just got up.  I hate that, but, oh well….  I’ll try to appreciate this rare opportunity of quiet reflection.

My mind wanders regularly.  And I let it.  I’m amazed at some of the thoughts I have, and how weird and random my imagination is sometimes.  I’ll create whole story lines in my head and just imagine little “what if’s”.  It’s kinda cool, actually.

I remember, when I was in elementary school, we were given a creative writing assignment and to this day, I still vividly remember my story.  I wrote a story about a giant mosquito who ate pickles (stay with me now…).  There was a little town who was famous for their pickles, and this giant mosquito was terrorizing them because he was eating all their pickles – plucking them right out of their gardens.  (Hey! I was in elementary school!  I didn’t know how you made pickles!)  So, all the townsfolk got this idea – there was a restaurant in town with a giant fake hamburger on top, so they took the burger down and put a giant fake pickle up there instead to lure the mosquito.  They ended up capturing him and saved the town!  Random, right? 

I see it in my daughter.  That kid has a crazy imagination, but I love when she kicks it in high gear.  You know how teachers hang kids’ classwork outside on the wall sometimes to display for the parents?  When they hang their stories, all of them are one sheet of paper…except Marley’s.  Hers is always 2 pages…with illustration…and lots of descriptive words.  🙂  Her 2nd grade teacher loved her for that – she said most kids would write something like, “The little dog ran away.”  Marley’s sentence would be more like this:  “The little brown spotted puppy would run away from the boy to chase the grey squirrel to a creek, where they would become friends and introduce themselves to the fish in the creek, then hop across the creek on the backs of the turtles…”  I remember one story she wrote started off simple enough – she and her grandparents were walking by the river.  Ok, good start.  Then she said that she saw something move in the river so she stayed behind and checked it out – and it was a shark!  And it was trying to eat her!  And she had to form a plan to capture it…and on it went from there.  Priceless.  And classic Marley.

I guess I’ve said all that to say this….  Let your imagination run wild sometimes.  Sure, as an adult, we have to think logically and make reasonable decisions.  But when you find yourself with a few moments of free time for quiet reflection, take advantage.  Pull out a pencil and some paper, or grab your laptop and open a Word document, and start writing.  Take a simple thought and expand on it.  See where your imagination takes you.  Nothing is going to be too silly or ridiculous, and nobody even has to read it but you.  You might surprise yourself.  Some of my best ideas have come from my wandering mind….

Have a great weekend!  I’m going out to conquer the world from all the giant pickle-eating mosquitos!

Leave a Reply

