Life…captured.

How to make a ribbon wreath (a.k.a. Mom’s birthday gift)

Please visit me at One Tough Mother for TONS more crafts, home decor, and other awesomeness.

 

So, I wanted to get something cool for mom’s birthday this year, but she’s hard to shop for.  Mom likes things that are practical (so do I), so I didn’t want to get her something just to get her something.  And I didn’t want to spend a ton of money, well, because I can’t, and she’s OK with that.  So I decided to get crafty.  And I’m SO glad I did! 

Mom decorated her home in pretty blues and chocolate browns, so I used those colors as my basis for this project.  I saw something similar to this on The Polka Dot Market’s site and thought, “I could make that!”  Well, guess what?  I did!  I had to give it to mom early for several reasons, and she loves it, so now I get to share – here it is:

I picked out A LOT of really beautiful grosgrain ribbon – 40 yards or so – in the color scheme that I chose for this project:

I also bought 3 yards of thick satin ribbon that I used to wrap the wreath.  I knew I didn’t have to cover every inch, because I would be covering it in loops of the grosgrain ribbon.  Here’s what that looked like:

Then, I started with one pattern at a time, cut 3″ strips, made a loop and used a straight pin to attach it to the wreath.  I did 20 or so strips of each pattern, randomly placing each strip on the wreath….

 

Then, voila!  It began to take shape!  I used a long strip of one pattern of ribbon to attach a loop to the back for hanging the wreath.  I’m so happy with how it turned out!  What do you think???

8 responses

  1. Erin Yackel

    I love it! I have been on a wreath kick lately. I made one for Valentine’s Day and one for my little man’s birthday just in the last few weeks. This one looks great for all the “in between” times. Great job!

    February 13, 2011 at 9:01 am

  2. wow, this is so cool! I think I’m going to make one for my house. Thank you so much for the tutorial 🙂

    -jade

    July 28, 2011 at 2:33 am

  3. I love this, I will be making one for my niece’s new home. TFS

    Chiffon

    July 28, 2011 at 12:06 pm

  4. Katie

    I’m not sure if you’ll see this or not, but where did you get your ribbon for this project? I’m attempting to do it and would like to make more but I’m having a hard time finding decent ribbon that isn’t 1-1/2″ thick. Thanks!

    February 2, 2012 at 3:49 pm

  5. Jessica

    What size wreath did you use for this project?

    May 25, 2012 at 9:19 pm

  6. Jacki

    It’s beautiful! I love chocolate and turquoise together. I have one question though, how long are the strips that you made the loops out of?

    October 27, 2013 at 2:29 pm

  7. This is gorgeous! Just love the colors and patterns.

    October 27, 2013 at 3:02 pm

  8. Rose

    this is beautiful…I’m going to make one in Christmas ribbons

    October 28, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Leave a comment